Statement

of the General Director -
Chairman of the Management Board
GENERAL DIRECTOR —
CHAIRMAN OF THE MANAGEMENT BOARD
V. O. POTANIN
Good operating and financial results of MMC Norilsk Nickel in 2014 achieved in a complicated international situation, unstable environment, and volatility of markets represent a natural outcome of the Strategy adopted in 2013.

The Company kept improving efficiency with a particular focus on work performance and costs control. By virtue of accurate fulfilment of the objectives set and proper management, we coped with threats of the reporting period. A good standing, investment attractiveness, access to foreign capital allowed balancing the debt burden of the Company and proceeding to the development of new significant projects.

In terms of sustainable development, one of the most important objectives for the Company is the reconfiguration of the flow charts, which will allow not only ensuring economic efficiency but mitigating fundamentally adverse environmental effects in the city of Norilsk. In 2014, we announced the restructuring of metallurgical production providing for the accelerated closing of the obsolete Nickel Plant in Norilsk, the modernization of Nadezhdinsky Metallurgical Plant and Talnakh Concentrator. It is important to emphasize that in view of environmental and social effects, these initiatives are supported by the Government of Russia, which allowed obtaining partial recovery of costs within the scope of the Program for the closing of Nickel Plant at the expense of early zeroing of export duties on nickel and copper. The main actions of the Program will be implemented already by 2016.

Social responsibility and cooperation with the key stakeholders remain conventionally the major priority of Norilsk Nickel Company. Social programs are implemented for the personnel. The indexation of wages for the workers of production units is carried out pursuant to collective agreements and internal regulatory documents. The costs are anticipated for that purpose in 2015 budget, too. Within the scope of the Program for the closing of Nickel Plant, social support to its workers will be ensured, including training and retraining for employment at other sites of the Company as well as assistance during their move to the “mainland.” Improvement of the health and safety system allowed considerable reduction of the total accident rate in 2014. The achievement of a zero fatal accident rate by 2018 is our key strategic objective.

In 2014, the tax and non-tax payments of the Company to the budgets of various levels amounted to RUB 79.2 billion. The costs for charity and projects for development of social infrastructure amounted to RUB 2.7 billion. The budget for 2015 provides for the preservation of existing social and charity liabilities and initiatives, including implementation of the charity program “World of New Opportunities,” which proved its efficiency. The projects and programs for migration, occupational guidance of youth, and development of infrastructure, which are implemented jointly with the federal and regional authorities, will be kept on.

Despite the apparent problems stipulated with the global situation, which the Company will face in the coming years, we are absolutely sure that we will implement all strategic objectives and will be able to make progress both in terms of enhancement of business efficiency and in terms of social security of our employees, development of the initiative in the Company habitats, and improvement of the environment.

I would like to thank the team of Norilsk Nickel for their conscientious work, professional and responsible approach, for their will to develop and facilitate the development of the Company!

Top

LogoLogo

Обращение

Генерального директора –
Председателя Правления
ГЕНЕРАЛЬНЫЙ ДИРЕКТОР —
ПРЕДСЕДАТЕЛЬ ПРАВЛЕНИЯ
В. О. ПОТАНИН
В прошедшем году «Норильский никель» достиг впечатляющих операционных и финансовых результатов.

Однако высокие показатели, при всей их значимости, не должны оставлять ощущение, что ситуация предрасполагала к успеху. Положительная тенденция на рынке металлов, производимых Компанией, в начале 2014 года сменилась снижением цен до уровня ниже, чем консенсусные прогнозы к концу года. То есть успех в данном случае был достигнут не вследствие благоприятной конъюнктуры цен, а в основном за счет контроля издержек, который установлен в компании в течение последних двух лет. Высокий уровень контроля издержек позволяет сегодня инвесторам оценивать акции нашей Компании лучше, чем рынок.

С точки зрения устойчивого развития одной из важнейших задач для «Норильского никеля» является реконфигурация схем производства, которая позволит не только обеспечить экономическую эффективность, но и качественно снизить воздействие на окружающую среду в г. Норильске. В 2014 году мы объявили о реконфигурации металлургического производства, предусматривающей ускоренное закрытие устаревшего Никелевого завода в г. Норильске, модернизацию Надеждинского металлургического завода и Талнахской обогатительной фабрики. Важно отметить, что с учетом экологического и социального эффекта эти инициативы поддержаны Правительством России. Это позволило получить частичную компенсацию затрат в рамках программы закрытия Никелевого завода за счет досрочного обнуления экспортных пошлин на никель и медь. Основные мероприятия программы будут реализованы уже к 2016 году.

Социальная ответственность и взаимодействие с ключевыми заинтересованными сторонами традиционно остаются важнейшими приоритетами «Норильского никеля». Для персонала действуют социальные программы, в соответствии с коллективными договорами и внутренними нормативными документами проводится индексация заработной платы работников производственных подразделений, затраты на это предусмотрены и в бюджете на 2015 год. Программа закрытия Никелевого завода обеспечит социальную поддержку его работников, в том числе обучение и переквалификацию для трудоустройства на других площадках Компании, помощь при переезде на материк. Совершенствование системы промышленной безопасности и охраны труда позволило в 2014 году существенно снизить общий уровень травматизма. В современных условиях достижение нулевого количества производственных несчастных случаев со смертельным исходом является нашей ключевой стратегической задачей.

В 2014 году Компания выплатила в бюджеты различных уровней 79,2 млрд руб. налоговых и неналоговых отчислений, на благотворительные мероприятия и проекты развития социальной инфраструктуры — 2,7 млрд руб. Бюджет на 2015 год предусматривает сохранение действующих социальных и благотворительных обязательств и инициатив, в том числе реализацию показавшей свою эффективность благотворительной программы «Мир новых возможностей». Будут продолжены совместные с федеральными и региональными органами власти проекты и программы переселения, профессиональной ориентации молодежи и развития инфраструктуры.

Заглядывая вперед, мы твердо уверены в том, что реализуем все стратегические задачи и сможем добиться новых успехов как в части повышения эффективности бизнеса, так и социальной защищенности наших сотрудников, развития инициативы на территориях присутствия и улучшения состояния окружающей среды.

Благодарю коллектив «Норильского никеля» за добросовестный труд, профессиональный и ответственный подход, за желание развиваться и способствовать развитию Компании!

Top